Felony theft laws in Colorado have different types of penalties and the number of fines that you will have to pay depending on the stolen property. If the total amount of the stolen property is less, there will be less penalty and they will be fined less. On the other hand, if it is more you might also face more than 20 years of prison along with the thousands of dollars in fines. Depending on the area you are in and the type of property that is stolen.
The current value of the property is taken into consideration and what will be the exact fines and the penalties will depend on the lawyers you have. The rest of the judgment is done by the judge and so for this, the lawyers play an important role. Below are some of the fine amount that you will have to pay if the property is stolen.
According to the felony theft laws in Colorado, there must be the stolen property of at least $2,000 in value in order for the law to be applicable. Below are the amount and penalties.
$2,000 to $5,000
Here the class 6 felony is applied and the prison sentence will be from 1 to 1.5 years of time along with the 1-year mandatory parole. Along with this the fine can start from $1000 and can go up to $100,000.
$5,000 to $20,000
Here a 1 to 3 year prison sentence is faced among which 2 years is mandatory parole and the rest will be fine. The fine amount can go up to $100,000 just like the previous one. Class 5 felony will be applied here.
$20,000 to $100,000
Here the mandatory parole is 3 years and the prison will be from 2 to 6 years. The fine amount will be at least $2,000 and can go up to $500,000. The felony is a class 4.
$100,000 to $1,000,000
The felony given here is class 3 and the number of years that you will have to spend in prison will range from 4 years and can go up to 12 years. Among which the 5 years parole is mandatory.
More than $1,000,000
If the total amount of the stolen property is a lot more and the amount goes up to $1,000,000 than you will fall into the class 2 felony in which the penalties are a lot more. The prison time will be a minimum of 8 years and it can go up to 24 years. Also, the fine amount will more as the crime did is more. You will have to pay at least $5,000.
These are the felony theft laws in Colorado. If you want justice after your property was stolen, you should contact the best lawyer that you know as they would be able to give you the maximum return and the one who stole the property will face the proper consequences. Also, you will get your property back.